Checking the value of an exposed state in plugin builder

To any plugin builders out there- Does anyone know how to check the value of an exposed state?

In a plugin I’m building, first I’m setting a couple of states by doing

instance.publishState();

Then I’m triggering an event by doing

instance.triggerEvent();

When the event is triggered, in the Bubble workflow I’m modifying a Thing using the values set in the exposed states. However, I’m seeing an issue where if the event is triggered too rapidly, sometimes Things’ values will be modified to null. I think what’s happening is the event is triggered before the state has been properly set. How can I check that publishState has successfully completed? Any ideas would be much appreciated!

I’m new to JS and to Bubble plugins but in a little plugin that I’m building, I encountered a similar problem. In my case, the problem was that a property I needed in order to set my exposed state was not yet set/read. So instance.publishState(); would always return null until I forced an update. I resolved it by testing for null in the property before setting the state.

I know this is not exactly what you’re facing but maybe it sparks something.

Yeah, that was what I thought was going on, but I added a check for null and print the value I’m publishing to the console before triggering the event and the console value is correct and it still happens, so I’m reasonably sure the issue is happening because there’s no delay between publish state and trigger event. I guess I could just add an interval between the two but I’d much rather know for sure that the publish state has been successful.
Thanks for the help anyway!

1 Like

Please report back if you find a solution or even a workaround as I have now hit this problem again myself and this time, like you, testing for null doesn’t help.