Forum Documentation Showcase Pricing Learn more

Do unused pages slow the app down?


#1

Does anyone know if having a bunch of unused test pages in your app slow down the app overall?


#2

While I don’t think that it has an overall impact on app performance, it does leave gaps that you should close. If you do leave these there, a few suggestions:

  • Get rid of them, if possible. (Think of it like having a garage…if you let it become a storage space, it’ll continue to accumulate).
  • Make sure you have good privacy roles. (These unused / under-built pages may expose your data in unintended ways).
  • Put a page-level redirects on the page so that only an authorized person can view in run mode (ie. give an account under your name a flag of is_admin = yes, while all other users are no).

#3

Actually that is some great advise. :slight_smile: some of them could certainly compromise user data


#4

It shouldn’t significantly impact your app. (Though I’m not certain about whether there is any editor impact in terms of number of site pages – seems unlikely, but one cannot know for sure.)

Note that pages that aren’t ever accessed by users wouldn’t really consume any sort of resources. Though note that pages like this, even if hidden by being “unlinked” or obscure, can still be discovered by bots, clever users, etc. or you might inadvertently expose them in your sitemap or whatnot.

In that case, it’s possible that visits from automated things like bots (such as Googlebot) could consume a small amount of resources.


#5

And I see Dan beat me to the security implications. For my “junk” and temp and test pages like this, I have a workflow called “Admin Security” that redirects somewhere else if the current user is not part of the Admin privacy role (which basically means if they are not me). Also, just like in pages where you wouldn’t want an unauthorized user to view, none of the page elements are visible on page load, but are specifically shown after passing the Admin Security workflow.

(As Dan gets at, it’s hard to remember to keep these settings intact or restore them if you’ve removed them. But since Bubble doesn’t have a concept like “Do not export this page to Live”, one really does have to have some of these dev mode type pages around if you’re constantly building new features and such.

Which gives another idea: You can have a workflow that redirects if development mode is “no” on such pages as well.)


#6

Yea that would make sense… i was wondering because having lots of elements on a page can certainly bring the editor to a crawl and slow down the load times of that page


#7

@keith - I like your suggestion using the if development mode is no. Seconding that.

As well, I’ll gladly second a “Do not export this page to Live” concept - would be a very nice feature. (IIRC correctly, Webflow has a function similar to this that was pretty appealing).


#8

The “don’t export” type feature is really pretty essential. It’s really weird (baffling even) that Bubble doesn’t have it. Any other web dev tool has this concept implemented somehow.

I liken Bubble most closely to Adobe Muse in a lot of ways and Muse’s interface for this was a page-level preference (same place you’d set the URL/path and various metadata) where you’d check a box for “don’t export to live”.

And then, when you pushed that site live (whether to Adobe’s own hosting or exported to HTML or whatever), those pages would not be included in the exported set.

So you could more easily have your “in development” pages, junk pages, just goofing around pages, etc. and there was no risk of these winding up in your live site.


#9

That would be really nice actually to mark pages for final export… i also wish bubble had a 3rd staging zone… there needs to be DEV, TESTING, & RELEASE.

Right now if i want my clients to approve something before launch they go to the version-test… but i want to be able to work on something without them seeing it, then push it for approval, and then push it live. I dont like they can login and check up on me and ask quesitons about things they have no business seeing. The only way to stop this is to deactivate their accounts during dev sessions.

I wish there was one more staging zone before live. :slight_smile:


#10

FYI The bubble app sends a list of all the pages to the browser, no matter which page you are viewing.


#11

That’s either really cool or really shitty, depending on how you think about things. :wink: Where does that happen? I did not know this. (Question is: Where would I look to see that happening?)

#themoreyouknow


#12

I’ll reply in PM with some magic sauce, its messing around with Bubble app internals so I won’t make it public.


#13

All I’m gonna say about this is that @mishav is the ultimate “clever user”. Basically, as I state above, obscurity is not the same thing as security. #mindblown