FORUM COMMUNITY IDEAS SHOWCASE LEARNING CENTER

Multiple users viewing/editing the same data

Hi there, Bubble community…

I am new to Bubble, and I’ve been having a crazy good time playing around with it and learning what it can do. That being said, I am a little frustrated right now because I can’t get what seems like a simple and prevalent use case to work after days of troubleshooting it myself and reading everything I could find out here.

Long story short… user A creates a “thing” that s/he can obviously view/edit. I want one or more other users (users B and C, for example) to be able to view/edit that “thing,” too, while one or more other users (users D and E, for example) can’t see that “thing” at all.

My thought was to create a collaborator field in the User table (with a type of list) and give user A a place where s/he can add collaborators by entering their email addresses (thus making a connection between user A’s email address and the collaborators’ email addresses). Then, I would simply go to the “thing” area in the Data Privacy section and construct the following condition: when this thing’s creator’s collaborator is current user.

So, again, it seems pretty simple (although, admittedly, I could be way off base with how I am approaching it), but it doesn’t look like the condition I’ve constructed above is supported by Bubble, making it impossible(?) to use the Data Privacy section to enable this use case.

Anyway, I don’t think I want to go down the path of doing something like locking down pages based on roles; I simply want to find a way to show/hide a “thing” given a connection between its creator and the user who is currently logged in. Is that possible?

Apologies in advance if I am way out in left field with my question and/or how I have gone about bringing it to the community, but any insight on this one from the knowledgeable and helpful folks out here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much…

Mike

Hi there @mikeloc