[Plugins for Beginners]: Accessing Input and Output Fields in Plugin Action Javascript Code

Hey everyone…

I’m not a professional programmer, but I can put together the basics in most languages given a few hours to remind myself of the syntax… which may make me quite a typical Bubble user. So I decided to write a plugin with a server action using some basic javascript code, thinking it would be quite easy. Boy have I just been round the houses on the most basic issue of how to read input fields. Before I forget the pain and the details, I want to document it here for all those who follow in my footsteps!

First, before you go anywhere on plugins, I recommend doing the wonderful Plugin Development course from the @copilot guys. Click here for the details.

Text Inputs - The Easy Bit
So text inputs are pretty easy. Define them like this:

And then in your code you can get the value you specified using the syntax:
properties.text_in

Text Output - For Action Running on Server
Define your “result” outputs like this:

And then in your javascript, write to the output with the line:

return {"text_out": myText};

where myText a text variable you have created within your code. Just don’t forget the quotes around “text_out” as I did for a short while.

Text Output - For an Element Action
In this case, you define an “Exposed State” of the element in the same style as shown above. The code to write to these outputs is:

instance.publishState("text_out", myText);

Custom Type Input - Not at All Obvious!
Wow, this part took me hours and hours to work out. I just couldn’t find one place to give me the answer, things I read were talking in slightly too technical javascript gobbledegook, and sometimes forum post I read were not quite accurate.

But YEAY, I have just worked it out. I’m so happy…

So this is for an input which is of absolutely any type you have defined yourself… so maybe a type called “Contact”, or “Event”, or “Invoice” for example.