Questionnaire / User Preferences

Hi I am totally new to Bubble. Seen some videos, read posts, and looked at some templates but couldn’t find exactly what I am looking for.

I want to create a questionnaire / user preferences, but not sure how to set it up and linking multiple tables (type).

So I have created two types with the following fields:
Questions

• Category
  • QuestionNumber
  • Question

Answer

• user id (not sure if I should use user unique id or something else yet)
  • QuestionNumber
  • Response (numeric 1 to 5)

What I have done and need to do:

• Create a page that has repeating group to display the questions (done!)
  • Next to each question in the repeating group, I would like the user to provide an answer 1 - 5 using a slider (or drop down). I have put the slider and make a default value of 3 (done!)
  • What I don’t know, how to is to make the page so it can allow the user modify the slider, it will insert a new record in answer type for all fields, if this is the first time answering that question. However, if they have submitted an answer before for a particular question, the operation is just update the existing response (response field). Somehow I need to link the answer table and question table or something, and make the value in the answer table editable.

note: users do not need to answer all questions. if they don’t answer the question we don’t need to insert his response to the answer type

So, is my table / type structure correct and how to actually do what I need to do?

Thanks a lot in advance!

I’m thinking i may need to join the two tables together to display the current respond. But couldn’t find anywhere in doc to do that.

I’ve done something similar in the past. A few thoughts: