Save data in external database

Hello,

I’m a complete newbie to Bubble. Very basic question. How do I save data in an input field to an external database, and even check if the user is registered using data from external database.

It seems everything is saved automatically in bubble’s databsae, and it’s unclear to me how to change the database. By the way, I’m using firebase realtime database for all of the data.

Thanks

Tony

Hi Tony, I believe the way people do this is by sending or retrieving data through the API to another database. It’s a bit slower than using Bubble’s native connection to the default database, but seems to work just fine.

There could be smarter ways to do this as I haven’t explored this in much depth myself.

Best,
Scott

I have the same question as sankwon. I have a database in Airtable, and I have successfully set up the Airtable API in Bubble’s API Connector. While setting up the Airtable API in Bubble’s API Connector, I was able to write data to the Airtable database while “initiating” and “modifying” within the setup.

Despite successfully navigating the API Connector setup, I cannot figure out how/where in the Bubble design or workflow modules to “create a thing” via API. I know how to create a thing in workflow when using the Bubble database, but I cannot figure out how to create a thing over API.

You probably don’t technically create a new thing in Bubble if you’re not using Bubble’s database, but instead pass the data to your database and have your database create a new row.

One way to do this would be to include a parameter in the data that’s sent “isNewThing” and then on the database side, when this parameter is =yes, then you use the data to create a new thing.

The database’s API includes a “create record” call. The issue I have is where exactly in Bubble I would make that call. Would it be in the workflow module or design module? I cannot find steps/instructions anywhere that would guide me through the process.