Slideable Menu Question

Hello,

I have the slideable menu on my app, but when it slides out, I want the entire web page to slide with it so the content is not covered by the menu. Is this even possible?

I’ve included a mock below.

Thanks!!

1 Like

You need to apply off-canvas effects with Javascript(and CSS) for that.

It is possible and quite common but needs some coding.

1 Like

JonL, thanks for the quick reply. I’m new to bubble, but do have experience with traditional javascript/CSS. If I add the javascript, can I add it to a reusable element such as a header, or do I have to add it to each page in my app?

Thanks!

I have done this without code. All you need to do as add a group underneath it and add and remove the left border to the size of the floating group as a menu. It takes a little bit of thinking but it works well for me.

I would still be curious to know how to do it with JavaScript and CSS. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

It will depend on how you have structured your app.

I use the html IDs of the Bubble elements I am planning on moving off and on canvas. In my case #sidebar and #main

If you have and app that has different pages you will have to assign those IDs(or what you choose) to the all the sidebars and main pages.

You will also need to use the JS toolbox plugin.

1 Like

I am on my mobile now but will provide code later once I get on my desktop.

1 Like

Alternatively, if you want a bubble no code solution, you can use the same drag and drop group to do this. Use the drag drop group element, and when the menu is visible move it x pixels right, then x pixels left when not visible.

1 Like

Awesome. Thanks!

Show sidebar

$("#main").animate({'padding-left' : '240px'}, "250ms");
$("#sidebar").animate({'left' : '0px'}, "250ms");
$("#sidebar").css("z-index", "999");

Hide Sidebar

$("#main").animate({'padding-left' : '0px'}, "250ms");
$("#sidebar").animate({'left' : '-240px'}, "250ms");
$("#sidebar").css("z-index", "4");