Windows Authentication for SQL Server?

Hello everyone,

I’m building an application that I need to be able to read/write to an existing SQL database for a customer.

The network administrator told me

“They are setup to use windows authentication to log into SQL. So, your read/write access will depend on if the Network User you are logging in as, has rights to do so in SQL.”

I know that bubble provides a SQL database connector already. However, the connector only say Postgres, MySQL and MSSQL.

Would I be able to connect to a SQL database with windows authentication through the bubble SQL Database connector?

If not, does anyone have any advice if this is possible and the best way to do it?

I’m very new to programming so not sure if this standard or unique. I’m trying to figure out if connecting to this database will be a problem, before I commit to doing it.

Thanks!

How do you plan on distributing the app? Through a Windows app (Using a hybrid to native converter) or just a webpage?

The website won’t be able to access which user is logged in.

Yeah the bubble app wont be able to pickup the current windows user and pass that though as windows authentication. Since all of the “stuff” will be happening on bubbles servers and not on the users browsers.

SQL Server is used interchangeably with MSSQL. So normally when people say SQL server they are talking about MSSQL.

Bubble uses this kind of connection string for MSSQL mssql://username:password@my-db-instance.endpoint.us-east-1.rds.amazonaws.com:PORT/db_name so you would need an SQL user and pass created on the database server. Also something to bear in mind is that the connection is going to be coming from Bubble. So they would need to open up access to the IP ranges that bubble servers use which could make the IT admin feel a bit uneasy.

Hope that helps!

Thanks

@chrislarge305 - Thanks for the response. A few questions.